A Call to All Governments:

Work Together Now to Stop Cyberattacks on the Healthcare Sector

We call on the world's governments to take immediate and decisive action to stop all cyberattacks on hospitals, healthcare and medical research facilities, as well as on medical personnel and international public health organizations. To this end, governments should work together, including at the United Nations, to reaffirm and recommit to international rules that prohibit such actions.

Over the past weeks, we have witnessed attacks that have targeted medical facilities and organizations on the frontlines of the response to the COVID-19 pandemic. These actions have endangered human lives by impairing the ability of these critical institutions to function, slowing down the distribution of essential supplies and information, and disrupting the delivery of care to patients. With hundreds of thousands of people already perished and millions infected

around the world, medical care is more important than ever. This will not be the last health crisis. For now and for the future, governments should assert in unequivocal terms: cyber operations against healthcare facilities are unlawful and unacceptable.

We don't tolerate attacks on health infrastructure in the physical world, and we must not tolerate such attacks in cyberspace — whether in time of peace or in time of conflict. We stand with the International Committee of the Red Cross in support of its call to protect medical services or medical facilities against cyberattacks of any kind. We call on governments to work together, and to join forces with civil society and the private sector, to ensure that medical facilities are respected and protected, and to hold perpetrators accountable. Above all, governments should take action and stop cyberattacks on hospitals and medical facilities. The time to act is now.

Dapo Akande

Professor of Public International Law, University of Oxford

Madeleine Albright

Former Secretary of State, United States

José María Álvarez-Pallete López

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Telefónica

Ban Ki-moon

Former Secretary General, United Nations

Lakhdar Brahimi

Former Foreign Minister, Algeria

John Bruton

Former Taoiseach, Ireland

Fernando Henrique Cardoso

Former President, Brazil

Margaret Chan

Former Director-General, World Health Organization

Eva Chen

Chief Executive Officer, Trend Micro

Stéphane Duguin

Chief Executive Officer, CyberPeace Institute

Mohamed ElBaradei

Former Director General, International Atomic Energy Agency (Nobel Peace Prize Laureate)

Beatrice Fihn

Executive Director, International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (Nobel Peace Prize Laureate)

Mikhail Gorbachev

Former President, Soviet Union (Nobel Peace Prize Laureate)

Gro Harlem Brundtland

Former Director-General, World Health Organization

Zhixiong Huang

Professor of International Law, Wuhan University

Igor Ivanov

Former Foreign Minister, Russia

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

Former President, Liberia (Nobel Peace Prize Laureate)

Eugene Kaspersky

Chief Executive Officer, Kaspersky

Khoo Boon Hui

Former President, INTERPOL

Larry Kramer

President, William and Flora Hewlett Foundation

Ricardo Lagos

Former President, Chile

Doris Leuthard

Former President, Swiss Confederation

Adrian Lovett

President and Chief Executive Officer, World Wide Web Foundation

Susana Malcorra

Former Foreign Minister, Argentina

Peter Maurer

President, International Committee of the Red Cross

Daniel Mitov

Former Foreign Minister, Bulgaria

Eduardo Montealegre

Former Foreign Minister, Nicaragua

Marty Natalegawa

Former Foreign Minister, Indonesia

Nandan Nilekani

Non-Executive Chairman of the Board, Infosys

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

Former Finance Minister, Nigeria

Maia Panjikidze

Former Foreign Minister, Georgia

Zeid Ra'ad Al Hussein

Former High Commissioner for Human Rights, United Nations

Sir Richard J. Roberts

Chief Scientific Officer, New England Biolabs (Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine)

Francesco Rocca

President, International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies

Julio María Sanguinetti

Former President, Uruguay

Juan Manuel Santos

Former President, Colombia (Nobel Peace Prize Laureate)

Samir Saran

President, Observer Research Foundation

Marietje Schaake

Former Member of the European Parliament, Netherlands

Michael Schmitt

Professor of International Law, University of Reading

Wendy Sherman

Former Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs, United States

Brad Smith

President, Microsoft

Desmund Tutu

Helle Thorning Schmidt

Former Prime Minister, Denmark

Archbishop Emeritus of Cape Town (Nobel Peace Prize Laureate)

Danilo Türk

Former President, Slovenia

Lech Wałęsa

Former President, Poland (Nobel Peace Prize Laureate)

Sir Graham Watson

Former Member of the European Parliament, United Kingdom

Harold F. Wolf, III

Chief Executive Officer, Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society

Ernesto Zedillo

Former President, Mexico